Adopting the abundance mentality at the workplace

A large apple pie, radius 46 inches Nederlands...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

The magic about abundance is that it doesn’t simply stop at the personal level: you can leverage it to work to your benefit either as an employee or as a business-owner.

I’m pretty well-known and respected as an English teacher who’s worth her salt, both among students and parents of the schools I’ve worked in, and among parents from schools located at the other end of the city. I’m sure this has nothing to do with my skill in teaching the subject, because there are many, many others who are more skilled and better trained than I am. I attribute this solely to the fact that I recommend parents to good teachers without an ulterior motive (I don’t demand a percentage of fees from the teachers I send students to), and to the fact that in the few tutoring assignments I’ve taken up, I’ve overdelivered far beyond anyone’s expectations. For me, it’s the pleasure of a job well done, and I have the time to spend hours with a student because I choose to tutor only a few, whom I also charge premium rates to. But the students I do work with, I practically adopt as my own, ensuring that they achieve their own personal best when results are declared. And I would only recommend a teacher who comes from a similar mentality.

Are you an employee? Adopt the abundance mentality at work in all your interactions. Overdeliver in assigned tasks by adopting a penchant for detail that goes beyond simply completing the job. If you own a business, give your customers more than they expect. Ofcourse, both these are difficult to do if your job is not innately fulfilling, if you’re simply doing what you do to make money. Moreover, you can’t fool either your boss or your customers: they just know when it’s a deliverable, when’s your heart’s not really into it.

Mass production and digitalisation have made it easier than ever to give away more than you charge for. The cost of any single product or service isn’t all that high because the infrastructure and the people needed to provide it are already in place. If you’re an expert, advise people for free, because if your heart’s into something, you’ll want to have people share your interest; you won’t want to contaminate your passion by charging people for allowing you talk about what you love.

The other day, a wine shop put me onto a guy who designed bars as a hobby, in addition to his job as an IT professional. I’d rather have a bar customised by this guy than by a bar-manufacturing company, because I haven’t found a company that goes beyond the selling and into understanding individual customer needs. With someone who does it for pleasure rather than as a business, the end-goal is perfection, not mere task completion.

A lot of people still believe that if they were to let someone else get a larger share, it would mean reducing the size of their own slice. But there are so many opportunities available…why not just bake a larger pie?

Leave a Reply

